Inspiration

    When you love doing something, for example in my case writing, you may think that it is impossible not to have inspiration continuously.Wake-up-and-smell-the-inspiration-quote-5  If you fall into this category, you are wrong.  We all have days when we feel that our efforts aren’t recognised or days that we feel so drained that we don’t even want to get out of bed.  It is at these moments that you have to push yourself harder and remind yourself that you can achieve what ever you set your mind too.  You need to get motivated and let the inspiration flow.

    I start nearly every morning with doing some yoga and various other exercises.20170913_083601  The yoga helps me clear my head and the other exercises are to get me back into shape after a summer of eating a ridiculous number of ice creams.  Last week I started going to physiotherapy for an hour an a half twice a week, which is not only exhausting and at times painful, but also time consuming.  Some of the exercises I have been taught, I have now incorporated in to my morning routine at home, so I have to get up even earlier!

    I then take my daughter, Phoenix, to school and then go for a pleasant walk along the promenade with our Lhasa Apso, Tinkerbell.  It is an energising feeling breathing in the sea air, listening to the waves lapping against the shore and watching the sunrise.  Whilst out walking I try to consider my writing plan of action for the day, but I am only human, so other thoughts occasionally race through my mind that have absolutely nothing to do with writing.  Sometimes I also come up with other ideas for future books and wonder if I will ever have time to write them all.

    I am truly fortunate to live so close to the Mediterranean Sea and various mountain ranges.  I appreciate that we don’t all have this opportunity. 20170919_080542 Some of you may live near other oceans, seas, lakes or mountains and I think it important to get out there with nature and feel the energy around you.  Even if you live in a city or town, a walk by a river or in a park can have the same energising effect.  I value my morning walks immensely and feel inspired after having one.  A good start in the morning sets me up for the day ahead.

    My current project is my second novel, Survival At Any Cost, which I am aiming to release in October.  Although it is coming along nicely, there are some parts that I am still not happy with and want to alter, again.  Along side this project, I still have to continue marketing my debut novel, A Few Bad Boys, keep developing my author platform and produce a book trailer.  This whole experience of becoming a published has been fantastic but it has been far from stress free.  At times I don’t feel that there are enough hours in the day and feel overwhelmed with the amount of work, but getting stressedd93c3350ce5ee772b67a505b8c0c5bd6--second-life-small-business-from-home out about it doesn’t get it done.  I am sure many of you have felt the same at some point.  If things get too overwhelming it is ok to take a break.  A lot more can be achieved and you will feel more inspired, if you try to detatch yourself from the task in question for a while, and then approach it with a fresh and more inspired mind.

    At times I get quite impatient with myself because, as I have said in a previous blog, I am not tech-savvy.  I am learning all the time, but in my mind, not quickly enough.  Building a web-site and having a regular blog, along with the various forms of social media, needs knowledge and takes time.  Like with almost everything, once you know how to do something it should get easier and take less time.

    I am happy with the response I have had to my debut novel, A Few Bad Boys.  One of my daughter’s teachers told me that he thought that it was brilliant and thinks that it should be madefilm_analysis into a film and would like to read a sequel to it.  He seemed disappointed that my next novel, Survival At Any Cost, is not the sequel to, A Few Bad Boys.  A number of people have given me the same reaction regarding writing a sequel and turning it into a film, which is very encouraging and inspiring.

    I am a great believer in trying your hardest in every field you encounter, whether it’s work, career, family, health issues or hobbies etc.  Whatever your true passion is, I know that you can find inspiration by opening your eyes and being aware of your surroundings.  It is also important to believe in yourself and know that you can reach any goal that you set yourself.  I hope that this blog gives you some more inspiration.

Until next time – keep chasing your dreams!

NICOLE

 

One thought on “Inspiration

Leave a comment